Auto insurers in Florida must offer policyholders uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage of at least $10,000 in coverage per person and up to $20,000 in coverage per accident.
However, policyholders are free to reject such coverage if they wish while remaining in compliance with Florida law. But there are benefits to opting into uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage.
The benefits of uninsured motorist coverage
While uninsured motorist coverage is not required in Florida, there are good reasons to include this coverage in an auto insurance policy.
Uninsured motorist coverage can come in handy if a motorist is involved in a crash with an uninsured or underinsured driver. Uninsured motorist coverage can pay for expenses the policyholder incurred in such situations.
Collision policies or even comprehensive insurance generally do not cover medical expenses, which can be prohibitively expensive following a car crash. Uninsured motorist coverage can help pay medical costs incurred in an auto accident.
What auto insurance is required in Florida?
Florida does require motorists to carry personal injury protection (PIP) in their auto insurance policies. Motorists must have a minimum of $10,000 in PIP.
Like uninsured motorist coverage, PIP covers medical expenses. However, while uninsured motorist coverage is not required, PIP is required.
Do not go without auto insurance
Most would agree it is not wise is to go without auto insurance altogether. Not only is this against Florida law but it could also put a motorist in a serious financial bind if they are involved in a car wreck caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver who totals their vehicle and causes serious injuries.
Auto insurance can be an additional cost that is hard to fit into the family budget, but being in a car crash with no insurance is significantly more expensive than the costs of carrying auto insurance with PIP coverage and possibly uninsured motorist coverage.